September 10, 2011

Streit & Heath Close Out Retro Night with Cruiser Win

Steve Streit and Ronnie Heath in Victory Lane after winning the Cruiser feature (Photo by Reed Bros. Photos)

For one special night the race fans at the Salina Speedway turned back the clock as three divisions from the past were showcased in the first ever Retro Night on Friday, September 9.

Finishing out the evening was all too familiar 2 driver Cruiser division, absent from the Speedway for around ten years. The combo of Steve Streit and Ronnie Heath powered away from the thirteen car pack to post the feature win aboard the #719. William Popelka and Dustan Van Nortwick finished second, followed by Ryan and Chris White in third, Brian Russell and Derek Kroeger fourth, and Gary and Brian Wonders in fifth. Popelka & Van Nortwick and White & White won the heat races.

Erick Chesterman in Victory Lane with second place finisher Braden Stoner after winning the Mini Stock Feature (Photo by Reed Bros. Photos)

Also making their return was the mighty Mini Stock division that ran at the Speedway up until the time of closure in 2006. Wichitan Braden Stoner took the lead early and had a great battle with Randy Hake before Erick Chesterman caught up late in the race and passed both to propel him to Victory Lane. Stoner finished second, Hake third, Jeremy Hedberg fourth, and Josh Howard fifth. Chesterman, Randy Rice, and Howard won the heat races.

Another return was made by the Super Modifieds of the Kansas Antique Racers. Larry Cottam and Ken Tatro had a spirited duel aboard their machines before Roger Thompson took over in his Super and left a vapor trail behind for the win. Thompson also won the heat race.

Kenny Sweet in Victory Lane after picking up the Belleville Motorsports Modified Feature win (Photo by Reed Bros. Photos)

The “regulars” in attendance included the Belleville Motorsports Modified division for a non-points event. Kenny Sweet took the lead at the start and never looked back to record his first victory of the year. The nail biter behind him was what fans were looking forward to, as a four car duel ended very close for second place. Rodger Peck took second, followed by Jerry Phillips, Jeff Herbers, and Shannon Johnson. Johnson and Sweet won the heat races.

Earl Kinderknecht celebrates another win in the Auto House Mod Lites (Photo by Reed Bros. Photos)

Earl Kinderknecht also left the rest of the pack in the dust as he raced to another win in the Auto House Mod Lites. Kinderknecht powered by the stripe well ahead of Tyler Bradshaw in second, Bud Lee in third, Justin Kinderknecht in fourth, and Dustin Forsberg in fifth. Bradshaw and Chris Unruh won the heat races.

Tyler Frye picked up his second win in his second visit to the Salina Speedway in the Xtreme Motorsports B-Modifieds (Photo by Reed Bros. Photos)

The Fryeman Tyler Frye took top honors by dominating fashion in the Xtreme Motorsports B-Modifieds. Bob Dauer came home second, followed by Matt Miller, Darin Nelson, and Brandon Belvill. Devin Stock won the heat race.

The regular season points championship battle continues next Friday night September 16 along with a special event dubbed the “I-135 Challenge” for the Auto House Mod Lites taking place also. Around 50 drivers are expected for the special with drivers comitting from as far away as Arizona and Pennsylvania. Races start Friday night at 8:00

For more information on the Salina Speedway please visit or call the hotline at 785-914-5141.

RESULTS (Complete feature results for Cruisers, for complete results on all other classes visit our website)

A Feature
1. Streit/Heath
2. Popelka/Van Nortwick
3. White/White
4. Russell/Kroeger
5. Wonders/Wonders
6. Cyphers/Somers
7. Wilson/Clanton
8. Balaun/Saip
9. Krenowichz/Carter
10. Post/Faubian
11. Montgomery/Northup
12. Zelenka/Weinhold
13. Cole/Cole

Heat Winners: Popelka/Van Nortwick, White/White

Mini Stocks
A Feature
1. 11 Erick Chesterman (Haysville)
2. 44 Braden Stoner (Wichita)
3. 1HX Randy Hake (Concordia)
4. 7J Jeremy Hedberg (Lindsborg)
5. 11 Josh Howard (Salina)

Heat Winners: Chesterman, Randy Rice, Howard

A Feature
1. 87 Kenny Sweet (Wichita)
2. 12 Rodger Peck (Minneapolis)
3. 66 Jerry Phillips (Galva)
4. 12P Jeff Herbers (Holton)
5. 819 Shannon Johnson (Salina)

Heat Winners: Sweet, Johnson

Mod Lites
A Feature
1. T1T Earl Kinderknecht (Salina)
2. 15B Tyler Bradshaw (Salina)
3. 21 Bud Lee (Salina)
4. 51 Justin Kinderknecht (Salina)
5. 3G Dustin Forsberg (Bel Aire)

Heat Winners: Bradshaw, Chris Unruh

A Feature
1. 55 Tyler Frye (Belleville)
2. 33 Bob Dauer (Marquette)
3. 4M Matt Miller (Concordia)
4. 67 Darin Nelson (Onaga)
5. 51 Brandon Belvill (Concordia)

Heat Winner: Devin Stock


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.