May 29, 2012

Morrison Returns to Victory Lane


The Memorial Day weekend kicked off in style on Friday night May 25 at the Salina Speedway as ninety-five cars checked in to square off at the 3/8 mile.

Danny Morrison Jr. made his first visit to Victory Lane on the season in the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modified division, but it didn’t come easy. Morrison had to tag the back of the pack early for pitting but slowly worked his way to the front. Brian Knoell led until he was overtaken by Morrison but still managed a second place finish. Brendon Gemmill made his first trip to the track for third place, with Austin Allen fourth, and Tad Davis in fifth. Gemmill was the Hard Charger after starting fourteenth. Rodger Peck, Shannon Johnson, Knoell, and Davis won the heat races while Jerry Phillips won the B Feature.

Austin Carter returned to Victory Lane in the Coors Light IMCA Stock Car division, this time outlasting Colby’s Nick Tubbs for his third win of the season. Tubbs finished second, followed by Jason Rogers, Justin Murdock, and Dustin McClurg. Rogers was the Hard Charger after starting eighth. Murdock and Carter won the heat races.

A new winner emerged for the Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMod division with Kurtis Pihl taking home the hardware. Pihl held off an exciting challenege from Josh Rice and Jacob Schmutz late in the race to capture first. Rice finished second, Schmutz third, Jason Nelssen fourth, and Seth Schroer fifth. Jesse Levin was the Hard Charger after starting twenty-first and finishing sixth. Matthew Crowell, Rice, and Schmutz were the heat race winners.

Aboard a new car Dustin Forsberg won his first feature event in the Auto House Mod Lite division on the season. Brandon Gray turned in a runner-up finish, with Corbin Pickerill third, Bud Lee fourth, and Earl Kinderknecht fifth. Nick Watts was the Hard Charger after starting sixteenth and finishing seventh. Lee, Gray, and Pickerill were the heat race winners.

Stacey Fuller scored her first win in many years in the T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stock division, with it also being the first win by a rear wheel drive car on the season. Wade Heller followed in second, with Eric Unruh third, John McNabb fourth, and Elliott May fifth. Les Wright was the Hard Charger after starting fourteenth and finishing sixth. Fuller, Paco Montague, and Heller won the heat races.

Racing continues on Friday June 1 with the Friesen Chevrolet Late Models presented by M&H Motors and Cave Diver’s Liquor back in action. They’ll be joined by the Belleville Motorsports IMCA Modifieds, Xtreme Motorsports IMCA Northern SportMods, Budweiser IMCA Hobby Stocks, and T&R Dirt Construction Mini Stocks. Race time is set for 8:00PM.

by Dusty Wiegert


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.